Congratulations to Cade Dillard for winning his 18th career USMTS on Hypercoils coil-overs!

Dillard tames Salina Speedway for 18th career USMTS victory

Cade Dillard Wins!

SALINA, Kan. (June 8) — Cade Dillard’s most important and only pass of the night Thursday was getting around polesitter R.C. Whitwell on the opening lap. From there, he led the final 39 laps en route to his 18th career USMTS victory in the series’ first-ever visit to the Salina Speedway.

Following five fantastic heat races and two rockin’ Real Racing Wheels “B” Mains, a field of 26 cars and drivers assembled for a 40-lap main event that saw Dillard fend off the early challenges of Whitwell and a late surge by Stormy Scott.

“I wasn’t sure, that’s the thing about up front you’re s sitting duck,” Dillard said. “I felt like there in the beginning we were rolling through the center pretty good and I saw the bottom cleaned off pretty fast.

“People got down in the infield so it dusted the rest of it up. It started latching down and I knew if I just hit my marks and didn’t get out of the rubber, I figured I’d be alright. But like I said, when you’re out front you don’t have any idea what’s going on behind you.”

Dillard hit every mark in front of a hearty crowd of fans, and at the end of the night the 26-year-old from Robeline, la., was sitting in victory lane with an extra $3,000 in his pocket.

“It’s great to come here,” Dillard added. “There’s a lot of fans here and it’s pretty cool to come where you get that kind of support from people.”

Scott, who started fourth, pressured Dillard on occasion and pulled to his rear bumper over the final two circuits, but had to settle for runner-up honors while Whitwell’s bid for a second win in three days ended with a third-place finish ahead of Zack VanderBeek, who earlier raced from last to first in Edelbrock Heat Race #3.

Ricky Thornton Jr. capped off a frustrating weekend by passing 11 cars in the main event to finish fifth and earn the KSE Racing Products Hard Charger Award. Tanner Mullens, Tyler Wolff, Dereck Ramirez, Tyler Davis and Dan Powers completed the top 10.

Read the full article at: