Congratulations to Jason Hughes, who wins again on Hypercoils suspension springs!

Hughes chalks up 150th USMTS win at I-94 Speedway

Jason Hughes was behind the eight-ball all night Friday at the I-94 Speedway, but after the checkered flag waved the three-time USMTS national champion was in front of the cameras and standing in victory lane for the 150th time after a United States Modified Touring Series feature race.

Meanwhile, a crop of rookie drivers took their shots at the front. Brent Dutenhoffer garnered the Sybesma Graphics Pole Award but it was Jacob Bleess taking control at the drop of the green flag—both drivers in search of their first-ever USMTS win.

Hughes, meanwhile, drew the eighth starting spot for his heat. After squeaking into the main event redraw with a third-place finish, the 42-year-old from Watts, Okla., drew the eighth position for the 40-lap feature.

Bleess paced the first 24 circuits but a pair of cautions on laps 23 and 25 kept the field close behind the leader with Hughes snagging the point as they completed the 25th lap.

From there, Hughes led the rest of the way while surviving two late-race yellow flags and a fierce final charge by Zack VanderBeek who settled for the runner-up paycheck while Hughes reaped the $3,000 winner’s share of the prize money in the Northern Region opener.

Johnny Scott was third at the finish line while Cade Dillard, who traveled all the way from Robeline, La., to Fergus Falls, Minn., drove from 14th to fourth in the main event. Stormy Scott finished fifth and Dan Ebert was sixth.

Four Grant Junghans Rookie of the Year contenders rounded out the top 10, including KSE Racing Products Hard Charger Award winner Kelly Estey who finished seventh after starting 18th. The rest of the top 10 were R.C. Whitwell, Kyle Prauner and Travis Saurer.

Read the complete article at USMTS: