Congratulations to Jason Hughes for his USMTS win on Hypercoils coil-over springs!

Hughes nips Scott at Cresco, has fourth USMTS crown in his crosshairs

Jason Hughes Wins Cresco SpeedwaySEPTEMBER 4, 2017   by Jeff Nun.  With Stormy Scott breathing down his neck in the points battle, Jason Hughes grabbed another gear Sunday night at the Cresco Speedway and led every lap of the main event to claim his fourth main event win in the USMTS Hunt for the Casey’s Cup powered by S&S Fishing & Rental.

At the end of the 40-lapper, Scott was still breathing down his neck but Hughes led at the finish with a 0.064-second margin of victory over Scott and took one step closer to securing his third straight USMTS national championship and fourth overall.

The win was the 155th of his United States Modified Touring Series career and put $4,500 in the Watts, Okla., pilot’s pocket.

With just one points race remaining, Hughes leads Scott by 43 points (2018 to 1975). If Scott can win on opening night of the 19th Annual Featherlite Fall Jamboree on Thursday, Sept. 21, Hughes can sew up the title by finishing 16th or better that night.

Cade Dillard (1866), Dereck Ramirez (1829), Ryan Gustin (1804), Zack VanderBeek (1790), Jake Timm (1777), R.C. Whitwell (1724), Travis Saurer (1716) and Ricky Thornton Jr. (1633) complete the top 10 in the rankings.

Timm finished third and VanderBeek was a passing machine in the main event, advancing to fourth from the 22nd starting spot.

His fifth KSE Racing Products Hard Charger of the Race Award put him at the top of the season-long hard charger points as well.

Saurer followed up Saturday night’s runner-up finish with a fifth-place result in Sunday’s 15th Annual USMTS Cresco Bowl.

Dustin Sorensen held off Gustin for sixth as ‘The Reaper’ saw his three-race win streak come to an end.

Tyler Wolff, Ramirez and Whitwell rounded out the top 10.

Following Sunday night’s result, Whitwell has clinched the 2017 Grant Junghans Rookie of the Year Award. The rest of the top five are also locked in to their position with Saurer second, Wolff third, Zane DeVilbiss fourth and Adam Kates fifth.

This year’s USMTS Engine Builder of the Year Award battle was a runaway win for Mullins Race Engines. It is the fifth title for the Mt. Olive, Ill., engine builder.

Although the USMTS national championship remains undecided, Hughes did lock up the 2017 USMTS Manufacturers Championship for his Hughes Racing Chassis with the win.

Jason Hughes (12) beat Stormy Scott (2s) by 0.064 second to win the USMTS main event at the Cresco Speedway in Cresco, Iowa, on Sunday, Sept. 3, 2017.

Read the full article at the United States Modified Touring Series: