Congratulations to Ryan Gustin on another win at Deer Creek Speedway on Hypercoils coil-over springs.

‘The Reaper’ keeps rolling at Deer Creek Speedway

Ryan Gustin took the lead from race-long leader Travis Saurer with five laps to go in Saturday’s 40-lap main event at the Deer Creek Speedway, and went on to score his third straight victory in the USMTS Hunt for the Casey’s Cup powered by S&S Fishing & Rental.

Saurer drove his tail off, scraping the outer concrete wall in both corners nearly every lap while several drivers tried to run him down without success.

While Saurer banged the cushion, Stormy Scott remained faithful to the shortest way around the high-banked 3/8-mile clay oval, and pulled even with the leader on multiple occasions.

Meanwhile, Gustin was lurking close behind, following in Saurer’s tire tracks for most of the race before dipping down to the middle of the track and showing Saurer his nose with eight laps to go.

‘The Reaper’ gave a slide job to Saurer with seven to go but Saurer powered back in front. Two laps later, Gustin drove underneath him and had the lead at the flagstand with five laps remaining.

Saurer stayed close to Gustin’s bumper the rest of the way, and Scott continued to be a presence down below, but Gustin kept them both behind him and cruised to his third straight win.

Ryan Gustin (19r) pulls alongside leader Travis Saurer (1s) during the USMTS main event on Saturday, Sept. 2, at the Deer Creek Speedway.

Of his now 92 career USMTS victories, it was Gustin’s fifth at ‘The Creek’ and first here since a rain-delayed afternoon show during the 2013 Featherlite Fall Jamboree—a drought spanning 24 starts here.

Saurer’s runner-up finish was a USMTS best for him while Scott finished third and narrowed the gap between himself and points leader Jason Hughes, who finished eighth after starting 21st on the grid.

Zack VanderBeek came from 16th to finish fourth and Lucas Schott, who stated in front of VanderBeek in 14th, finished fifth.

Jake Timm was sixth, Cade Dillard finished seventh, Keith Foss followed Hughes across the finish line in ninth and 17th-starting Dereck Ramirez rounded out the top 10.

With just two more points races to go, Hughes leads Scott by 35 points (1915 to 1880). They are the only two drivers mathematically capable of winning the 2017 USMTS national championship.

Dillard sits third with 1810 markers, followed by Ramirez (1755), Gustin (1726), VanderBeek (1703), Timm (1686), R.C. Whitwell (1652), Saurer (1632) and Ricky Thornton Jr. (1582).

The stars and cars of the USMTS will invade the Cresco Speedway on Sunday for the 15th Annual USMTS Cresco Bowl and the next-to-last event in the Hunt for the USMTS Casey’s Cup powered by S&S Fishing & Rental.


Get the complete article from the United States Modified Touring Series at