Hyperco congratulates Stormy Scott on his 40th career victory, driving on Hypercoils!

Scott leads 40th of 40 for 40th

ELM MOTT, Texas (May 10) — Ryan Gustin was the first to see the white flag but Stormy Scott was the first so see the checkers in a heart-stopping hump day rumble at the Heart O’ Texas Speedway.

After claiming the Sybesma Graphics Pole Award, Trevor Egbert was the fastest out of the gate and led the first five laps of Wednesday night’s USMTS feature at the 3/8-mile dirt oval near Waco.

Gustin, who won Saturday’s shootout at the Route 66 Motor Speedway in Amarillo, took charge on lap 6 and held off challenges from both Scott and Chris Brown for the rest of the race through the 39th of 40 circuits.

Meanwhile, Zack VanderBeek, who won two of three main events here last year, climbed from 19th on the grid to pass Brown for third on lap 32 and reeled in the lead duo over the final eight laps. At times, the trio ran virtually side by side in the corners with Gustin continuing to hold the edge at the flagstand.

With the white flag waving behind them, Scott slipped underneath Gustin as the pair worked their way out of the first set of turns and down the back-stretch.

Scott entered the third turn in the middle of the track while Gustin went high, and then shot downhill to squeeze underneath Scott as they drag-raced to the finish line.

With less than two-tenths of a second to spare, Scott beat Gustin to the line by a bumper while Vanderbeek followed in their shadow to register a third-place paycheck.

Chase Allen snuck by Brown with three laps to go and held him off to finish fourth. Summit Racing Equipment Southern Region points leader Cade Dillard finished sixth, Dereck Ramirez was seventh, R.C. Whitwell wound up eighth, ninth went to Jason Hughes and Egbert held on to complete the top ten.

By leading the 40th and final lap, Scott secured his 40th career United States Modified Touring Series victory and his third $3,000 victory in the past six races.

Scott’s last-lap heroics earned him the Wehrs Machine & Racing Products “Trick Move” of the Race Award while VanderBeek hauled in the KSE Racing Products Hard Charger Award.

The second show of a four-night, four-track swing through Texas takes place Thursday night at the Superbowl Speedway in Greenville. Pit and grandstands open at 5 p.m. with hot laps at 7:15 and racing to follow.

The last trip to the semi-banked quarter-mile dirt oval last May saw Cade Dillard take the feature win. Two shows were staged here in 2014 with the wins going to Johnny Scott and Stormy Scott.

For the full article and to learn more about the United States Modified Touring Series, visit www.usmts.com.