Congratulations to Johnny VanDoorn! It must be the Hypercoils coil-overs and bump springs on his car!

VanDoorn Breaks Baer Field Curse with Win in the Summit City 100

Salem, IN (June 11, 2017) – Three time ARCA/CRA Super Series Powered by JEGS Champion Johnny VanDoorn freely admitted prior to Saturday nights series event at Baer Field Motorsports Park, that race track was one of his least favorites, those thoughts may have changed after VanDoorn came out on top in a tough battle with Dalton Armstrong to get the win in the Summit City 100.

“Wow I can’t believe I won a race here at Baer Field,” remarked a visibly elated VanDoorn in victory lane. “We have never really run very well here and never had any good luck, but everything came together tonight and we parked it in victory lane. I want to thank all the fans that came out for tonight’s race, what a great crowd. We need a lot more of this in short track asphalt racing, I hope fans will come out and support these type of events more!”

The stands were packed on Saturday night as promoters Dave and Jody Muzzillo had one of the biggest events ever held in the recent history of Baer Field Motorsports Park on Saturday as the ARCA/CRA Super Series Summit City 100 was teamed up with the ICAR Outlaw Super Late Models who contested the final Stan Perry Memorial 110 lap event, which was appropriately won by his son Bud Perry and a special 10 car, $10,000 to win Challenge event that was won by Terry Senneker. It was also Baer Field Hall of Fame Induction Night, were former ARCA/CRA Super Series competitor Terry Fisher was inducted into the track’s Hall of Fame. Fisher is the father of current CRA competitor Terry Fisher Jr.

Florida native Steve Dorer took advantage of his pole starting position to grab the lead at the drop of the green flag after EDCO Welding Fast Qualifier Kyle Crump drew a seven for the events invert. Dorer led through lap four, but VanDoorn was quickly on the move coming from his sixth place starting position to grab the lead from Dorer on lap five.

VanDoorn continued to lead while a tough battle for every other position on the track was going on behind him. Dalton Armstrong worked his way to second from his fourth place starting position but VanDoorn had built a significant lead. That all went away when the yellow flag came out for a spin, bunching the field back together, setting up a series of restarts between VanDoorn and Armstrong.

Both VanDoorn and Armstrong battled back and forth on each restart with Armstrong grapping the lead on lap lap 54 after VanDoorn slipped up the track on one of the restarts. Another yellow came out bunching up the field again, on that restart VanDoorn got the lead back on lap 61. VanDoorn had to fight off Armstrong on one more restart with 16 laps to go, but cruised from there to get his second series win of the 2017 and was the AR Bodies Cool Move of the Race Award winner for his pass to get the lead and the eventual win.

VanDoorn and Toledo Speedway event winner Brian Campbell are the only drivers locked into the new Chase Championship format to date, if they compete in at least 75% of the races leading up to the final four Chase events, to crown the 2017 series Champion.

Read the full story: